Food Advisory Committee

Helps in the development of educational materials, class instruction programs and gives input on health district policies, procedures, regulations and fees.

Committee Overview

The Food Advisory Committee is a cooperative effort between Spokane Regional Health District’s Food Safety program and representatives who are active in the local food industry. Members of the committee are elected from various sectors of the food industry, both public and private, in addition to two consumer representatives. The committee assists in the development of educational materials, and gives input on health district policies, procedures, regulations and fees in an effort to encourage collaboration between the health district and the community it serves.


Interested in Becoming a Food Advisory Committee Member?

Every year in December, Spokane Regional Health District (SRHD) seeks out new members to serve on its Food Advisory Committee. Openings on the 13-member committee vary by sector each year and may include representatives from the food and medical industries.

These are voluntary positions. Committee members must be willing to serve a two-year term and be able to attend formal meetings on the first Wednesday of February, June and November. In addition, members must be able to attend a special member selection meeting each January.

Food Advisory Committee Application

If you are interested in becoming a committee member, please contact SRHD’s Food Safety program at 509.324.1560, ext. 2.


Current Members

MemberRepresentativeEmail
Steve Main
Spokane Regional Health Districtsmain@srhd.org
Allan DevineyFood Service Industryadeviney@thedavenporthotel.com
Shane Erickson
Grocery StoreShane.erickson@safeway.com
Brian Dickman
Temporary Food Events
Curtis Raddatz
Higher Education InstitutionCurtis.raddatz@sodexo.com
Samantha SlipperSchool District Food Programsamanthasl@spokaneschools.org
Sharon Young
Medical / Institutionsyoungs@gonzaga.edu
Lauren Willis
Consumerlaurenmwillis@gmail.com
Barbara RichardsonWashington Hospitality Associationrichardsonfore@comcast.net
Jim McDonald
Consumerjimzone@outlook.com
Stephanie Smith
Extension Office
steph.smith@wsu.edu

Food Service Industry